Grade 11 Math Curriculum

The Grade 11 is the final and graduating year for Spirit of Math. The difficulty level is equivalent to a first or second-year university math course. In Grade 11, students learn topics in calculus involving limits, derivatives, implicit and partial differentiation, integrals, and more. Students also work on independent assignments covering functions, logarithms, algebraic equations, geometry, sequences and more. The overall curriculum prepares students with a deep understanding in mathematics as well as strong independent thinking and time management skills. Cooperative group work and problem solving continues to be key component in the Grade 11 curriculum.  Overall, the weekly 2-hour class is filled with new, rewarding learning for high performing students.

Here’s what we cover in Grade Eleven:

  • Mental Arithmetic: In grade 11, students continue practicing their mental calculation skills
  • The grade 11 year focuses on Calculus. The material taught is comparable to that of a first-year university calculus course. Topics covered include:
  • Limits
  • Derivative rules
  • 2nd and 3rd degree derivatives
  • Derivatives of Logarithmic, Exponential & Trigonometric Functions
  • Implicit Differentiation
  • Partial Differentiation
  • Maximum-Minimum Problems
  • Rates of Change Problems
  • Curve Sketching
  • Integrals & Applications
  • Problem sets based on the following topics:
  • Functions
  • Logarithms
  • Algebraic equations
  • Sequences and series
  • Geometry Mania: challenging problems based on a variety of concepts in 2- and 3-dimensional geometry
  • Comparing and discussing homework solutions to independent assignments and core work
  • Strengthening communication and social skills
  • Learning how to share ideas on how to collaboratively solve problems
  • Developing critical thinking and decision-making skills

Grades are available online and parents receive three report cards each year. Our students will demonstrate their understanding through:

  • Tests based on problem sets (at Lessons 6, 11, 18, and 27)
  • Six Unit Tests (at Lessons 8, 16, 22, 25, 31, and 37)
  • Final Comprehensive Exam